The Catholic University of America

June 1, 2007

Former Theological College Rector to Lead St. Mary's Seminary & University

Rev. Thomas R. Hurst, S.S.
Rev. Thomas R. Hurst, S.S., most recently the rector of Theological College at The Catholic University of America, has been named president-rector of St. Mary's Seminary & University in Baltimore, effective July 1, 2007.

This appointment was made by the Provincial Council of the U.S. Province of the Society of St. Sulpice and was approved by Cardinal William Keeler, the archbishop of Baltimore and chancellor of St. Mary's.

"Father Hurst brings a wealth of experience in priestly formation to his new position," said Rev. Ronald D. Witherup, Sulpician provincial, in a press release announcing the appointment. "He is a dedicated and loyal priest of the Church who is an excellent role model for seminarians."

Father Hurst has been the rector of Theological College - the national seminary of The Catholic University of America, sponsored and administered by the Society of St. Sulpice - since 2001. An alumnus of St. Mary's Seminary & University, Father Hurst was ordained a priest for the Diocese of Albany in 1973. He has been a priest of the Sulpician order since 1976.

"Father Hurst has done an excellent job as rector of CUA's Theological College," said Very Rev. David M. O'Connell, president of Catholic University. His commitment to the Church, his theological insight and pastoral sense, combined with his balance and good sense of humor made him a great role model for future priests studying at CUA. These same qualities will serve him well in his new position."

Father Hurst obtained a doctoral degree in Semitic languages from CUA and for many years has taught New Testament and biblical languages. Before coming to Theological College in 2001, he was regional superior of the Sulpicians in Zambia, Central Africa, and academic dean of St. Dominic's Seminary in Lusaka, Zambia. From 1980 to 1992, he was on the faculty of St. Mary's in Baltimore, serving as vice rector from 1986 to 1992.