The Catholic University of America

Dec. 19, 2008

CUA's Fall Sports Athletes Earn Honors

Members of CUA's fall sports teams earned numerous honors, both athletic and academic, this semester. Listed below are the honors earned by sport. Honors for athletes are listed beginning with the all-American honors, then all-region honors and finally all-conference. These are followed by the Landmark Conference academic awards and the Landmark academic honor roll. Criteria for the academic awards are also listed below. All major awards are in bold.


  • Team - Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Southeast Bowl Champions
  • Nick Olivero - First Team All-South Region, Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Defensive Player of the Year and ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete award
  • Dean Petrone - Second Team All-South Region and ECAC Southeast Bowl Most Outstanding Player
  • Keith Ricca - Third Team All-South Region and ODAC Offensive Player of the Year
  • All-ODAC First Team
    • T.J. Breslin
    • Jim Gehringer
    • Dean Petrone
    • Miles Sabrick
  • All-ODAC Second Team
    • Rich Brennan
    • Greg Brown
    • Andrew Buis
    • Sean Green
    • Ryan McManus
    • Chris McNicholas
    • David Woo

Field Hockey

  • Team - Landmark Regular Season Champions
  • Ro Dixon - Third Team All-American, First Team All-South Atlantic Region, National Field Hockey Coaches Association Senior All-Star Game participant and Landmark Conference Defensive Player of the Year
  • Marian Cassilly - Second Team All-South Atlantic Region
  • Gia Cillizza and staff - Landmark Conference Coaching Staff of the Year
  • Landmark Conference First Team
    • Andrea Baick
    • Marian Cassilly
    • Ro Dixon
    • Tracey Scanlon
  • Landmark Conference Second Team
    • Carley Walko

Men's Soccer

  • Matt Brady - Third Team All-South Region
  • Travis Beauchamp and staff - Landmark Conference Coaching Staff of the Year
  • Michael DiMarco - Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year
  • Landmark Conference First Team
    • Matt Brady
    • Brian Pappas
  • Landmark Conference Second Team
    • Tim McAneny

Women's Soccer

  • Elyse Bellardini - Third Team All-Mid-Atlantic Region
  • Landmark Conference First Team
    • Elyse Bellardini
    • Helene Nicoletti
    • Suzie Peters
    • Diana Spadaro
  • Landmark Conference Second Team
    • Kelly Donnelly

Women's Cross Country

  • Remy Ball - All Region
  • Landmark Conference First Team
    • Jenna Hackett


2008 Fall Landmark All-Academic Team
The Landmark Conference announced that 32 student-athletes have been honored with selection to the 2008 Fall Landmark All-Academic Team. Two male and two female athletes from each of the eight Landmark institutions were selected for the team, which honors athletes who have excelled athletically and academically. To be eligible, nominees competed in any one or more of the Landmark fall sports and had to be a sophomore or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better.

Kyle Bakas, Senior, Soccer, Philosophy
Matt Brady, Junior, Soccer, Civil Engineering
Suzie Peters, Senior, Soccer, Elementary Education
Carley Walko, Junior, Field Hockey, Marketing

Landmark Conference Fall Senior Scholar Athlete
The Landmark Conference Fall Senior Scholar Athlete honor is given to one conference athlete in each sport.

Ro Dixon, field hockey

2008 Fall Landmark Academic Honor Roll
The Landmark Academic Honor Roll recognizes all fall student-athletes of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher. The student-athletes must complete the fall season in good standing with their team.

Women's Volleyball
Alexandra Min-Tun

Women's Soccer
Kelly Alt
Elyse Bellardini
Amanda Cowan
Jenna Graham
Caitlin Laverty
Erin McNulty
Helene Nicoletti
Suzanna Peters
Terese Rossi
Michelle Spadaro

Men's Soccer
Kyle Bakas
Matthew Brady
Quinn Daly
Adrian Davis
Joshua Harris
Matthew Hofrichter
Timothy McAneny
Thomas O'Leary
Nick Sylvester

Field Hockey
Andrea Baick
Abby Banholzer
Kelly Burke
Ellie Cassilly
Meredith Chandler
Rosemary Dixon
Tory Gagliardi
Elizabeth Grumbein
Rebecca Kelly
Meredith Reape
Emily Sencindiver
Carley Walko

Women's Cross-Country
Remy Ball
Madeleine Cronan
Jenna Hackett
Gina Maini
Angela Montanio
Mary Shashaty
Bridgette Smith

Men's Cross-Country
John Puskar
Kris Reynolds
Paul Santuso
Andrew Smith