Icon bar Features Endnote Letters Alumni Essay CUA Alumni News In Class Reading List Scoreboard Explorations News@CUA President's Forum Features Endnote Letters Alumni Essay CUA Alumni News In Class Reading List Scoreboard Explorations News@CUA President's Forum

Football, Food and Friends, Oh My! Homecoming & Reunions Weekend 2008

Join the 2008 Ireland Pub and Shopping Tour

Upcoming Events

Alumni Events Photos

Nominations Sought for Alumni Association Awards

New Benefit for CUA Alumni: Online Transcripts

Class Notes:

Nominations Sought for Alumni Association Awards

The CUA Alumni Association is seeking nominations for awards to be conferred in spring 2009. Please consider nominating individuals for the following honors:

Alumni Achievement Awards
Every year, the Alumni Association recognizes alumni who have excelled in fields of endeavor that reflect the university’s strengths. Recipients have included Martin O’Malley, B.A. 1985, current governor of Maryland; Rosanna Scotto, B.F.A. 1980, Emmy-winning anchorwoman at New York City’s Fox 5 News; and Brig. Gen. William T. Bester, M.S.N. 1985, chief of the U.S. Army Nurse Corps.

Young Alumni Merit Award
Nominees for this award must demonstrate high levels of professional achievement, leadership ability, potential for future leadership roles and commitment to serving others. The award recognizes a young alumna or alumnus who graduated no more than 15 years ago. Previous recipients of this award have included Brian Cashman, B.A. 1989, general manager of the New York Yankees; Mark Forrest, B.M. 1994, internationally acclaimed Irish tenor; and Sean Tuohey, B.A. 1999, founder of Playing for Peace, an international organization that works for peace via basketball camps.

James Cardinal Gibbons Medal
The highest honor bestowed by the Alumni Association, this award recognizes an individual for his or her distinguished and meritorious service to the Church, the nation or The Catholic University of America. The award will be presented at the university’s commencement ceremony in May. Candidates for this award are not required to be CUA alumni. Gibbons Medal recipients have included Cardinal Avery Dulles, S.J., first lady Nancy Reagan, Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, actress Helen Hayes, and Catholic Relief Services President Ken Hackett.

George J. Quinn ’50 Distinguished Service Award
Intended to recognize alumni who have given “conspicuous and meritorious service” to the Alumni Association, the Quinn Award may be presented to no more than five alumni each calendar year.

Frank A. Kuntz ’07 Award
This honor recognizes those “unsung heroes” of Catholic University whose efforts might otherwise go unrecognized.

Edward J. Pryzbyla ’25 Award for the Support of CUA Athletics
Named in honor of the late CUA benefactor and Alumni Association governor, this award recognizes those who have rendered extraordinary service and support to the CUA athletics program.

Athletics Hall of Fame
Housed in the Raymond A. DuFour Center, the Hall of Fame honors former CUA athletes and coaches distinguished for their outstanding performance or leadership. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony takes place every two years. This is the only one of the above honors that will be conferred in fall 2009, rather than spring 2009.

To nominate individuals for any of these honors, use the online form (visit www.cuatoday.com and click on “Alumni Tools” and then “Recognition”) or write to:

Office of Alumni Relations
Attention: Awards Committee
The Catholic University of America
Washington, DC 20064

You also may fax (202-319-4483) or e-mail (cua-alumni@cua.edu) your nominations.

Please include supporting materials that will aid the awards committee in selecting candidates.

Back to top

magazine cover

Return to the CUA Magazine Contents Page

Return to the CUA Public Affairs Home Page

Revised: August 2008

All contents copyright © 2008.
The Catholic University of America,
Office of Public Affairs.