The Catholic University of America

Fact Book


  Programs main photo

A Wide Range of Programs

All 12 of the University’s schools offer graduate and/or professional degrees. Undergraduate degrees are awarded by 10 schools — architecture and planning, arts and sciences, business and economics, engineering, music, nursing, philosophy, professional studies, social work, and theology and religious studies.

All undergraduates combine a base curriculum in the liberal arts with more in-depth courses from their major fields of study.

The Metropolitan School of Professional Studies provides opportunities for adults to earn baccalaureate or master’s degrees or to participate in certificate programs.

Catholic University is the only American university with ecclesiastical faculties granting canonical degrees in canon law, philosophy, and theology. Theological College, the University seminary, prepares men for the priesthood who come from many dioceses of the United States.

Accredited by the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools as well as many disciplinary accrediting organizations, CUA enjoys a distinguished history and has filled an important niche: doctoral programs in philosophy and social work that are among the nation’s oldest; the only university music school in Washington, D.C.; the largest architecture school in the area; a law school that is a pioneer in clinical education; and a drama department that has been the educational incubator for acclaimed playwrights, directors, and actors.

Programs 1 Programs 2 Programs3