[CUA Office of Public Affairs]                                                                        

Oct. 27, 2000


Catholic University Honors Twelve Prominent Alumni


The Catholic University of America will honor 12 alumni who are prominent in their fields at its annual Alumni Achievement Awards Banquet on Saturday, Nov. 4, in Washington, D.C.

William H. Graham Sr., communications consultant and former drama professor, will receive the James Cardinal Gibbons Medal, the CUA Alumni Association’s highest honor, given for distinguished and meritorious service to the nation, the Roman Catholic Church or The Catholic University of America. Graham, who received an M.A. from CUA in 1954, is current chairman of the board of trustees of suburban Maryland’s Olney Theatre Center for the Arts, executive producer for the National Players Classical Touring Company and associate director and co-founder of the National Institute for the Word of God. For 41 years, Graham taught drama at Catholic University, serving as drama department chairman from 1977 to 1993. He founded CUA’s Master of Fine Arts acting program in 1970, which he directed until 1993, and he co-founded the National Institute for the Word of God at the Dominican House of Studies in Washington, D.C.

The achievement award for architecture and planning will go to Joseph E. Brown of San Francisco, president and CEO of EDAW, one of the world’s largest and fastest-growing community-planning, urban-design and landscape architecture firms. He received a Bachelor of Architecture degree from CUA in 1970.

Lois K. Evans will receive an achievement award for nursing. Having earned a master’s degree in psychology and mental health nursing in 1970 and a doctorate in nursing in 1979 from CUA, Evans is a faculty member in the University of Pennsylvania’s School of Nursing and holds the Viola MacInnes/Independence Chair.

The achievement award in engineering will go to Vice Admiral Paul Gaffney II.  He is president of the National Defense University in Washington, D.C. Formerly, he was chief executive of the Office of Naval Research, managing the Navy and Marine Corps science and technology programs with $1.3 billion in federal funds, and headed the only worldwide  oceanographic and meteorological services organization. He received an M.S.E. in 1969.

John L. Garvey will receive the alumni achievement award for law and legal education.  Garvey, who received his J.D. in 1948 and an M.LL. in 1954, is a former dean and retired law professor emeritus of CUA’s Columbus School of Law, where he held the James Whiteford Chair of Common Law. He is a 1984 recipient of a Benemerenti medal from Pope John Paul II.

The achievement award for theater and the performing arts will be given to Maria Paz Diaz Lagdameo, vice president for external affairs at Assumption College in Makati City, Philippines. She received an M.A. in speech and drama in 1961 and is now chair on the board of trustees for the Cultural Center of the Philippines. She has directed and written numerous musicals for the Manila Metropolitan Theater and the Karilagan Cultural Arts International.

Historian Harold D. Langley will receive an achievement award for research and scholarship.  Langley earned a B.A. in history in 1950 from Catholic University and, after further education, worked for the U.S. Department of State and was curator of naval history at the Smithsonian Institution’s Armed Forces History Collections at the National Museum of American History.  He is an adjunct professor of history at CUA.

Monsignor Frederick McManus will receive the alumni achievement award for pastoral service. McManus received a J.C.D. in 1954, was dean of the CUA's School of Canon Law, director of the secretariat for the Bishops’ Committee on the Liturgy and was a peritus at the Second Vatican Council.  He is currently a member of the International Joint Commission for Theological Dialogue.

The achievement award for library and information science will go to Judith Senkevitch, an assistant professor at the University of Wisconsin’s School of Library and Information Science. She was the founding director of CUA’s National Rehabilitation Information Center and in her career has received numerous grants to study how to meet the needs of rural communities and of the disabled in modern American libraries.

The achievement award for education will go to Brother Stephen Sullivan, F.S.C.  A Christian Brother, Sullivan received a B.A. in 1943, an S.T.L. in 1957 and an S.T.D. in 1959 from CUA.  He went on to teach in high schools and universities and served as president of Manhattan College in New York City.

The music achievement award will go to David Whitwell, a music scholar and professor, who has conducted guest ensembles throughout the world and has been honored by musical societies in numerous countries. Whitwell received a Ph.D. from Catholic University in 1963.

The George J. Quinn, Class of 1950, Distinguished Service Award will be presented to John R. Looney, who served as national president of the CUA Alumni Association.  This award is bestowed to recognize outstanding and dedicated service to the alumni association. Looney received his B.E.E. from CUA in 1956.

The Catholic University of America, located in Washington, D.C., is the nation’s only university established by the U.S. Catholic bishops and is the national university of the Catholic Church. Founded in 1887 as a graduate and research institution, CUA began offering undergraduate programs in 1904. About 5,500 graduate and undergraduate students are enrolled.




Back to top of page

Any questions or comments? cua-public-affairs@cua.edu


Revised: Nov. 30, 2000

All contents copyright © 2000.
The Catholic University of America,
Office of Public Affairs.