Lifelong Learning Happens at CUA in the Summer

During the summer months, many of CUAs students head for home, jobs and internships, and if theyre lucky travel to exotic locales (or at least, the Jersey Shore.) But the campus is enlivened by tiny youngsters toting violins, aspiring opera singers and summer campers who come to CUA for programs on everything from designing Web sites and learning about architecture to running defensive patterns and laying down a bunt.

According to Jessica Madrigal, director of summer sessions, CUA is a busy place in the summer. About 1,500 students stick around during June, many to pick up needed credits. About 120 visiting students take courses at CUA.

In addition, the university sponsors several programs to introduce college study to high schoolers, some of whom may eventually enroll in CUA.

Some programs attract younger children to CUA, such as "Plays the Thing!" which introduces children ages 8-11 to the many facets of drama production.

This summer, more than 400 teachers from D.C., Maryland and Virginia will attend professional development workshops in education on campus.

Some programs generate revenue and recruite graduate and undergraduate students for the university, Ms. Madrigal noted. In other cases, the university develops programs as a public service. "Summer gets busier every year," Ms. Madrigal says. "Professors and departments are getting interested in doing more special programs."

At the Raymond A. DuFour (athletic) Center, boys and girls from grade-school to high-school age will be honing skills in basketball, baseball, football, soccer, lacrosse and akido.

Organizations such as the Suzuki Institute of Washington and Upward Bound use CUAs facilities for their own summer camps, programs and conferences.

Here is an overview of programs taking place on campus this summer. Coordinators are noted for campus programs. For general information, contact Brian Hallahan in the Office of Conferences and Summer Programs at 319-5277, or Jessica Madrigal, Office of Summer Sessions, 319-5257.

Pre-college Programs

Monday, June 19, through Friday, June 23

  • Information Design for the Web: Glen M. Johnson

Monday, June 19, through Friday, July 7; Monday, July 10, through Friday, July 28

  • Experiences in Architecture I and II: Ricardo Loosle-Ortega

Sunday, June 25, through Saturday, July 15

  • CUA Capitol Classic Debate Institute: Ronald Bratt

Monday, June 26, through Friday, June 30

  • Chamber Music Workshop: Jody Gatwood

Monday, July 3, through Sunday, July 30

  • Plays the Thing! : Shannon Parks

Monday, July 10, through, Friday, July 21

  • Media and Video Production Workshop: Spencer J. Cosmos

Monday, July 10, through Saturday, July 22

  • Opera Institute for Young Singers: Debra Eileen Evans
  • Professional Development for Aspiring Operatic Singers: Debra Eileen Evans

Sunday, June 25, through Friday, June 30

  • Eye on Engineering and Computer Science: Emma Cox (202-319-5160)

Tuesday, August 15, through Saturday, August 19

  • KEYs to Empowering Youth: Contact Dean of Engineering for More Info at 202-319-5160

Athletic Camps

Monday, June 19, through Friday, June 23; Monday, July 3, through Friday, July 7 

  • 8th Annual Catholic University Boys and Girls Basketball Camp, for ages 8-16: Mike Lonergan

Monday, June 26, through Friday, June 30

  • Department of Athletics Akido camp: Jone Dowd

Monday, July 10, through Wednesday, July 12

  • Football: Big man camp and quarterback/wide receiver camp: Tom Clark

Monday, July 10, through Friday, July 14

  • Baseball camp: Ross Natoli

Sunday, July 16, through Thursday, July 20

  • Clyde Watson Soccer Academy

Sunday, July 16, through Friday, July 21

  • Soccer camp
  • Archdiocese of Washington/Encounter Experience

Friday, July 21, through Sunday, July 23

  • Girls Lacrosse camp: Kristine Manning

 

Summer Institutes and Conferences

Sunday, June 11, through Friday, June 23

  • Institute on Matrimonial Tribunal Practice

Wednesday, June 14, through Friday, June 16

  • The Dominican Family

Thursday, June 15, through Sunday, June 18

  • Mennonite Church General Board

Monday, June 19, through Friday, June 23

  • Greater Washington Suzuki Institute
  • Food and Drug Law Institute

Monday, June 19, through Friday, June 30

  • Department of Theology's Hispanic Pastoral Leadership Program, Session One

Tuesday, June 20, through Monday, July 31

  • Upward Bound

Wednesday, June 21, through Saturday, June 24

  • The National Association of Pastoral Musicians

Saturday, June 24, through Saturday, July 1

  • Blue Army Rosary Congress

Monday, June 26, through Friday, June 30

  • Education Professional Development Workshops and Institutes Session One.

Monday, June 26, through Friday, August 4

  • Tenley Achievement Program Summer 2000

Thursday, June 29, through Sunday, July 2

  • National Deaf Cursillo

Wednesday, July 5, through Saturday, July 10

  • Peace Tax Foundation

Friday, July 7, through Thursday, July 20

  • Alzheimer's Association

Sunday, July 9, through Saturday, July 22

  • Mathematical Association of America

Monday, July 10, through Friday, July 14

  • Education Professional Development Workshops and Institutes Session Two

Monday, July 10, through Friday, June 21

  • Department of Theology's Hispanic Pastoral Leadership Program Session Two

Monday, July 10, through Friday, June 21

  • Program for Para-Professionals in Canon Law: Tribunal Specialization

Monday, July 10, through Saturday, July 22

  • Connecticut Republican WOW Program

Monday, July 17, through Friday, July 21

  • Education Professional Development Workshops and Institutes Session Three

Wednesday, July 19, through Monday, July 24

  • United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Thursday, July 27, through Sunday, July 30

  • Association for Student Affairs at Catholic Colleges and Universities - Rev. Robert Friday

Monday, July 31, through Friday, August 4

  • Education Professional Development Workshops and Institutes Session Four
  • Adelphi International-Fulbright Teachers Exchange Program

Wednesday, August 2, through Sunday, August 6

  • Indian American Catholic Charity group of Philadelphia