[CUA Office of Public Affairs]

Angels Place Receives Cardinals Encouragement Award

13 June 1997

a.gif (1076 bytes)ngels Place, an Oakland County, Mich., organization that provides homes and supportive care for adults with development disabilities, was the recipient of the Eighth American Cardinals Encouragement Award.

Loretta Nagle, a founder of Angels Place, accepted the award at the Eighth American Cardinals Dinner at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Dearborn, Mich.

The award recognizes faith-based initiatives that reflect gospel values. It is presented each year by the American Catholic cardinals at the dinner that benefits financial aid for students at The Catholic University of America, the national university of the Catholic Church. Angels Place was founded in 1992 by Nagle, Annemarie Lopez, Rosemary Kelly, Margaret Prentice and Margaret Maxwell. The project stemmed from a conversation between Nagle and Lopez, both nurses, in which Lopez expressed concern about the future of her own daughter with developmental disabilities. By garnering the support of friends in the community, the first of four Angels Place homes opened in 1994 in West Bloomfield Township, Mich.

The homes provide care for people with developmental disabilities whose families can no longer care for them because of age, illness or death. Many of these families have exhausted their physical and emotional strength, as well as their financial resources, said Nagle. Ultimately, the death of both parents can be a life-threatening situation.

Cardinal Adam J. Maida, the archbishop of Detroit and a Catholic University trustee, said, "The people behind Angels Place have a great commitment to Christian values. Their witness to the dignity of every human life deserves recognition and encouragement."

The American Cardinals Dinner honors the American Catholic Church cardinals who are among the Church's highest-ranking prelates and whose duties include electing the pope. The event benefits financial aid programs at the university, the only university established by the U.S. Catholic Church bishops.

In addition to Cardinal Maida , the other cardinals honored were:

Previous Cardinals Encouragement Award winners are:


Don't miss our most recent News Releases or our on-line speech texts.


[IMAGE: Up Arrow]To the Top of this page
Return to the News Release main page
Return to the News Release Archive main page
[IMAGE: CUA Logo]The Catholic University of America home page

Any questions or comments? cua-public-affairs@cua.edu


Revised: 27 October 1997

All contents copyright 1997.
The Catholic University of America,
Office of Public Affairs.