The Catholic University of America

May 7, 2008

Provost Honors CUA Professors with Top Faculty Awards

CUA professors recognized by Provost James Brennan (standing, right) at the annual Provost Awards include: (seated, from left) Marcie Goeke-Morey, Jessica Ramella-Roman, Laura Mayhall; (standing, from left) Scott Mathews and Luis Boza.

Five CUA professors were honored with faculty awards at the spring Provost Awards luncheon for the 2007 calendar year held at the Edward J. Pryzbyla University Center on May 6.

The awardees included Marcie Goeke-Morey, assistant professor of psychology, and Laura Mayhall, associate professor of history, for excellence in teaching; Scott Mathews, assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer science, and Jessica Ramella-Roman, assistant professor of biomedical engineering for excellence in research and scholarship; and Luis Boza, assistant professor of architecture and planning, for excellence in creative expression.

This is the first year an award has been given for creative expression. Winners received a cash prize of $2,500 as well as an engraved Waterford clock.

"These awards have become a great tradition over the last few years. This institution is blessed to have these professors in our midst," Provost James Brennan said.

The award for excellence in teaching is given to a full-time faculty member with a distinguished record of teaching. In addition to Goeke-Morey and Mayhall, this year's nominees included:

  • Gregory Doolan, assistant professor of philosophy
  • Gunnar Lucko, assistant professor of civil engineering
  • Angela McKay, assistant professor of philosophy
  • Kenneth Pennington, professor of law and the Kelly-Quinn Professor of Ecclesiastical and Legal History

In announcing awardees Goeke-Morey and Mayhall, Brennan cited their glowing student course evaluations and unique, interactive teaching styles.

The award for excellence in research and scholarship is given to a faculty member with significant scholarly accomplishments. In addition to Mathews and Ramella-Roman, this year's nominees included:

  • Greg Brewer, associate professor of chemistry
  • Tobias Hoffmann, associate professor of philosophy
  • John Judge, assistant professor of mechanical engineering
  • Adnan Morshed, assistant professor of architecture and planning
  • Thomas Schärtl, assistant professor of theology and religious studies

Besides several recent journal articles and research projects, Mathews has been working to develop an enhanced resolution digital camera that mimics a fly's eye view of the world. Last year Ramella-Roman received two prestigious grants totaling $380,000 to conduct medical research in the prevention of diabetes-related blindness and the care of persons with spinal injuries.

The inaugural award for excellence in creative expression recognizes a faculty member with significant creative accomplishments such as exhibitions, shows, juries, awards, competitions, public readings, performances, published reviews and critiques. In addition to Boza, this year's nominees included:

  • Raj Barr-Kumar, associate professor of architecture and planning
  • Eric Jenkins, associate professor of architecture and planning
  • Jon Klein, assistant professor of drama
  • Lavinia Fici Pasquina, associate professor of architecture and planning

Provost Brennan recognized retiring faculty members: (seated, from left) Sarah Pickert, Ingrid Merkel, Sister Catherine Dooley, O.P., Christopher Kauffman; and (standing, from left) Joseph Sendry and Uta-Renate Blumenthal.
Boza has received numerous educational honors, including the Education Honor Award from the American Institute of Architects, has displayed his work at several galleries and exhibitions and is co-director of CUAdc, the design collaborative that provides architectural services to nonprofit and community groups in Washington, D.C.

After distributing the awards, Brennan acknowledged eight retiring professors who have contributed a combined 228 years of service to CUA. They are:

  • Uta-Renate Blumenthal, professor of history
  • Sister Catherine Dooley, O.P., professor of theology and religious studies
  • Charles Gravenstine, associate professor of theology and religious studies
  • Christopher Kauffman, professor of theology and religious studies
  • William Kelly, professor of civil engineering
  • Ingrid Merkel, associate professor of modern languages and literatures
  • Sarah Pickert, professor of education
  • Joseph Sendry, professor of English

"As students leave and they begin their lives beyond CUA, it's important for us to remember what a noble gift it is to be part of their education," Brennan said to the faculty members at the lunch. "You make Catholic University run. You make it special. Catholic University is you."