The Catholic University of America

Calendar Item


Concert: Ensemble Next Parallel to Open 2013-2014 Season

WHEN: 7:30 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 12. Doors open at 7:15 p.m.

The Catholic University of America
Benjamin T. Rome School of Music
Ward Recital Hall
620 Michigan Ave.
Washington, D.C.


Ensemble Next Parallel, the graduate student chamber ensemble at CUA, opens its season with a concert that includes the premiere of Brian Rice’s “Take the Next Train,” inspired by Billy Strayhorn’s “Take the A Train.”

It also features “Time after Time” by Fred Lerdahl and “Transparent” by Rob Smith.

Drawing the parallel between the traditional and the modern, ensemble members Yong Clark, flute, and Fanny Nemeth-Weiss, violoncello, will perform J.S. Bach’s “Partita in A minor for Flute” and Luciano Berio’s “Sequenza XIV,” two masterpieces from the solo repertoire.

Ensemble Next Parallel is led by Yevgeny Dokshansky, a CUA music graduate student. The 2013-2014 composer-in-residence is Brian Rice, a D.C.-based composer and CUA alumnus whose works have been heard across the United States and in Europe.

For more information, visit, email, or call 202-319-5414.

SPONSOR: Benjamin T. Rome School of Music


More news from CUA